top of page
  • Writer's pictureTony Brown

Life & Weather

It has been ages since I have posted on here. As with most of us amateur astro photographers with a family and a day job there are times where it is nice to take a break from the night sky and focus on something closer to home. That said I did manage on a break to Tenerife to drag my wife and daughter up Mount Teide for Lunch and Star Gazing. Unfortunately, although telescopes were around for demonstrations my trip coincided with the full moon. You could not have planned a worse time and that is fair as it was not planned it just happened. One thing however that did stand out was how pin prick and diamond like the stars were, even with the Moon bleached sky all the constellations where easily noticeable, something that in UK around Sheffield is sadly missing.

Together with the Holiday there has also been a mix of cloudy nights and of course when not cloudy a full moon. I have learnt by trial that my DSLR even with an Optolong L-Enhance in place simply does not perform when the Moon is bright so I tend to not bother nowadays, maybe a vote for Narrowband and Mono cameras.

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page