top of page
  • Writer's pictureTony Brown

Two Nights of Soul

Two back to back clear nights gave me the chance of gathering in the end 195 exposures of this well photographed astro emission nebula. I have had a go at this subject last year as part of a first attempt at a mosaic with the Heart nebula. I decided this year to focus soley on this target!


Capture Details:-

23rd Sept 2022 - 30 Flats, 10 Darks and 90 Lights

24th Sept 2022 - 30 Flats, 10 Darks and 105 Lights


Lights / Darks where ISO 800 for 240s exposure. It was a good two nights Smith minimal cloud and no moon. I preprocessing each night separately then registering the preprocessed lights together.I then filtered visual for large large aircraft trails and obvious think cloud. I then filtered out based on the quantitive quality measure by Siril during registration:-

Rejected FWHM>3.3

Rejected wFWHM>5

Rejected Roundness<80%


136 4 minute lights where left to be stacked, giving 9h04m

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page